Beck - Odelay (140g) (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $32.99

Beck - Odelay (140g) (LP)

    Featuring "Where It's At", "Devils Haircut" & "The New Pollution"


    Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 424/500

    1996 Grammy Award Winner:
    • Best Male Rock Vocal Performance: "Where It's At"
    • Best Alternative Music Album: Odelay

    1996 Grammy Award Nominee:
    • Album Of The Year: Odelay

    Beck's DGC/Geffen/Interscope catalog is being reissued by UMe on vinyl. The first albums to be reissued on 140g vinyl include 1996's Odelay, 2002's Sea Change, and 2005's Guero.

    June 2016 marked the 20th anniversary of this double-platinum-certified album. Odelay features fan favorites "Where It's At", "Devils Haircut", and "The New Pollution". The album won 2 GRAMMY® Awards in 1997 for Best Alternative Music Album and Best Male Rock Vocal Performance for "Where It's At".

    Odelay was produced by Beck with collaborators the Dust Brothers, Mario Caldato Jr., Brian Paulson, Tom Rothrock and Rob Schnapf.

    It's an important record, containing the most interesting and extensive use of sampling up to that point, and possibly since. Artists sampled include Grand Funk Railroad, Edgar Winter, Bob Dylan, and Beck himself, among many others. What's extraordinary though, to me, is Beck's sampling fluency - it's so spontaneous and witty that it's like listening to a really clever jazz solo. To this day, when I listen to this album I laugh out loud.
    -Jim Austin, Stereophile Magazine Record To Die For 2020

    Track Listing:

    Side A:
    1. Devils Haircut
    2. Hotwax
    3. Lord Only Knows
    4. The New Pollution
    5. Derelict
    6. Novacane
    7. Jack-Ass

    Side B:
    1. Where It's At
    2. Minus
    3. Sissyneck
    4. Readymade
    5. High 5 (Rock The Catskills)
    6. Ramshackle


    Format: LP Vinyl

    Label: Interscope

    Catalog No: B002512401

    Barcode: 0602547933782

    Genre: Rock

    No of Discs: 1

    Release Date: 12/2/2016



    UPC:  602547933782