Gary Clark Jr. - This Land (2LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $34.99

Gary Clark Jr. - This Land (2LP) 

Grammy Award Winning Virtuoso Guitarist/Singer/Songwriter On Double LP

2020 Grammy Award Winner:

• Best Rock Performance: "This Land"
• Best Rock Song: "This Land"
• Best Contemporary Blues Album: This Land

To sum up Gary Clark Jr. is more challenging every day. He's a musical universe unto himself, expanding at a nearly immeasurable rate, ever more hard to define - as a mind-blowing guitarist, a dazzling songwriter and engagingly soulful singer. He became the first artist ever recognized by the Recording Academy with Grammy Award nominations in both the rock and R&B categories for the same album in the same year, winning the latter: Best Traditional R&B Performance - "Please Come Home" (from the album Blak And Blu).

The Grammy Award-winning maverick channels his signature sense of soul from the crossroads of rock 'n' roll, blues, jazz, hip-hop, reggae and punk. Clark's most accomplished songwriting and virtuosic performances to date, This Land delivers socially relevant, transcendentally ambitious, and musically rich declaration as unapologetic, undeniable, and unique as he is. He emerges with a body of work that is dynamic in every sense, embodying an ever-evolving sound that transformed him into an artistic force anointed by everyone from President Barack Obama to the late Prince.

"Gary Clark Jr. has spent the better part of a decade figuring out how to translate his guitar wizardry into compelling album-length statements. His first two offerings — 2012's Blak and Blu and 2015's The Story of Sonny Boy Slim — were steeped in a sleek, modern blues-rock production style that mostly failed to capture the thrilling dynamics of his live show. Clark's third major-label LP, This Land, arrives as an ambitious corrective. This is the first time it's felt like the singer-guitarist is embracing the possibilities of studio production as a creative asset rather than a nuisance. In place of copious guitar solos, we get bass synths, keyboards, and a series of programmed samples that add a convincing contemporary accent to the survey of genres (Eighties R&B, funk, rockabilly, punk, reggae) Clark draws from this time." - Rolling Stone, The 50 Best Albums of 2019 So Far, June 2019

• Double LP
• 2 Bonus Tracks
• Gatefold jacket
Track Listing:
Side 1:
1. This Land
2. What About Us
3. I Got My Eyes On You (Locked & Loaded)
4. I Walk Alone

Side 2:
1. Feelin' Like A Million
2. Gotta Get Into Something
3. Got To Get Up
4. Feed The Babies
5. Pearl Cadillac

Side 3:
1. When I'm Gone
2. The Guitar Man
3. Low Down Rolling Stone
4. The Governor

Side 4:
1. Don't Wait Til Tomorrow
2. Dirty Dishes Blues
3. Highway 71 (Bonus Track)
4. Did Dat (Bonus Track)
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Warner Bros.
Catalog No: 584802
Barcode: 0093624902287
Genre: Blues
No of Discs: 2
Release Date: 3/1/2019

UPC:  093624902287