Green Day - Dookie (180g) (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $30.99

Green Day - Dookie (180g) (LP)
    Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 375/500
    If anything worthwhile rose out of the ashes of Woodstock's 1994 rehash, it was the explosion of this trio. Billie Jo, Mike and Tre carry on as America's Olympic champion punk provocateurs, undaunted in the new millennium.

    The third studio album for Green Day, originally released in 1994, became a worldwide commercial success reaching number two on the U.S. Billboard 200 and charting in seven countries.

    Thanks to the initial single, "Longview", Dookie became a major hit. The album continued to gain momentum throughout the summer, with the second single, "Basket Case", spending five weeks on the top of the American modern rock charts. At the end of the summer, the band stole the show at Woodstock '94, which boosted the sales of Dookie. By the time the fourth single, "When I Come Around", began its seven week stay at number one on the modern-rock charts in early 1995, Dookie had sold over five million copies in the U.S. alone; it would eventually top eight million in America, selling over ten million copies internationally (the coveted Diamond Award). Dookie also won the 1994 Grammy for Best Alternative Music Performance.

    "The album that jump-started the Nineties punk-pop revival. The California trio Green Day sold plenty of tickets and indie records on their own, but nothing they did before or since had the impact of their major-label debut. The skittish Dookie was recorded in little more than three weeks, and singer-guitarist Billie Joe Armstrong blazed through all the vocals in two days. "Right from getting the drum sound, everything seemed to click," their A&R man Rob Cavallo marveled. Nowhere did it click better than on the infectious smash "Longview" (which Armstrong described as "cheap self-therapy from watching too much TV")." -

    • 180g Vinyl LP
    • Pressed at Pallas
    • Mastered at Bernie Grundman Studios
    • Single-pocket Stoughton Jacket

    Track Listing:
    1. Burnout
    2. Having a Blast
    3. Chump
    4. Longview
    5. Welcome to Paradise
    6. Pulling Teeth
    7. Basket Case
    8. She
    9. Sassafras Roots
    10. When I Come Around
    11. Coming Clean
    12. Emenius Sleepus
    13. In the End
    14. F.O.D. / All By Myself


    Format: LP Vinyl
    Label: Reprise
    Catalog No: 468284
    Barcode: 0093624986959
    Genre: Rock
    No of Discs: 1
    Release Date: 4/18/2009

                    UPC: 093624986959