Hans Zimmer - The Dark Knight Soundtrack (180g) (2LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $36.99

Hans Zimmer - The Dark Knight Soundtrack

(180g) (2LP)

Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Warner Bros.
Catalog No: 511101
Barcode: 0093624985976
Genre: Soundtrack
No of Discs: 2
Release Date: 8/12/2008
2009 Grammy Award Winner:
• Best Score Soundtrack Album For Motion Picture, Television Or Other Visual Media: The Dark Knight

The Dark Knight: Original Motion Picture Soundtrack returns with the ASCAP–winning composers from Batman Begins - Academy Award winner Hans Zimmer and seven-time Oscar nominee James Newton Howard - for a powerful orchestral score.

The Dark Knight movie stars Christian Bale in the title role, Michael Caine, the late Heath Ledger as The Joker, Aaron Eckhart, Maggie Gyllenhaal, Gary Oldman, Morgan Freeman and Eric Roberts. The film was directed by Christopher Nolan.

One of film’s most sought-after composers, whose career encompasses more than 100 film and television scores, Hans Zimmer won an Oscar for The Lion King, and has earned nominations for Gladiator, The Thin Red Line, Rain Man, As Good As It Gets, The Preacher’s Wife and The Prince Of Egypt. Recent film credits include Pirates Of The Caribbean: At World’s End and The Simpsons Movie.

Oscar nominated for Michael Clayton, The Village, My Best Friend’s Wedding, One Fine Day, Junior, The Fugitive and The Prince Of Tides, James Newton Howard also scored King Kong, Runaway Bride, The Sixth Sense and Collateral.

Edgy, unsettling, disturbing, dysphoric, overpowering, enveloping: Hans Zimmer and James Newton Howard's 2008 film score for The Dark Knight has it all and more. Take the album's 'Why So Serious' track: It opens with a faint, static-like, ripped 294Hz note, bursts into loud, crashing heavy-metal bursts, falls into a silence punctuated with ticking clock sounds mixed with jarring 31Hz jackhammer synth notes, and ends in a concussive meld of synth pulses and heavy metal chords. The album's 'I'm Not a Hero' grows out of a sustained 24.9Hz synth note, then dissolves into dissonant unsettling chords. The liner notes quote producer Christopher Nolan's first impression of the music as 'the harshest, most incomprehensible sounds ever to enter my ears,' which was able to convey 'the sound of the joker, his threat screaming out from the quietest and most delicately painful slides.' Distressing and dystopian, The Dark Knight soundtrack's terrifying chaos compels me to listen again and again during reviews, wondering how such disturbing music can be so compelling.
-Larry Greenhill, Stereophile Magazine Record To Die For 2020
• 180g Vinyl
• Double LP
• Gatefold Jacket
Track Listing:
LP1 Side A:
1. Why So Serious?
2. I’m Not A Hero
LP1 Side B:
1. Harvey Two-Face
2. Aggressive Expansion
3. Always A Catch
4. Blood On My Hands
5. A Little Push
LP2 Side C:
1. Like A Dog Chasing Cars
2. I Am The Batman
3. And I Thought My Jokes Were Bad
4. Agent Of Chaos
5. Introduce A Little Anarchy
LP2 Side D:
1. Watch The World Burn
2. A Dark Knight