Joe Strummer & the Mescaleros - Joe Strummer 002: The Mescaleros Years Box Set (7LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $164.99

Joe Strummer & the Mescaleros - Joe Strummer 002: The Mescaleros Years Box Set (7LP)

Limited Edition 7LP Box Set

3 Studio Albums + B-Sides, Demos, Outtakes & Never Before Heard Tracks

All Albums Remastered by Grammy Award-Winner Paul Hicks

Exclusive Art Print + 32-Page Book feat. Unseen Notes, Lyrics & Drawings

Only 2,500 Units Available in North America

2022 marks 20 years since the passing of the legendary Joe Strummer. While best known as the frontman for The Clash, between 1999-2002 Strummer produced some of his most exciting work alongside The Mescaleros.

Joe Strummer 002: The Mescaleros Years is the first comprehensive collection highlighting this intense period of creativity and brings together the albums Rock Art and the X-Ray Style (1999), Global A Go-Go (2001), the posthumous Streetcore (2003), and Vibes Compass, a brand new compilation of 15 B-sides and rarities, including never before heard tracks like "Ocean of Dreams" (featuring Steve Jones of the Sex Pistols on guitar) and early demos of some of the Mescaleros best-loved tracks ("The Road to Rock 'N' Roll", "X-Ray Style" and more), through to some of the original recordings from Joe's last ever sessions ("Coma Girl [Outtake]", "Fantastic" and "Get Down Moses [Outtake]"), all in one complete box set.

All albums are remastered by Grammy Award winner Paul Hicks (The Beatles / The Rolling Stones / John Lennon / David Bowie) and are packaged in a richly curated box set, featuring extensive new liner notes and interviews with Joe's friends, collaborators and The Mescaleros band members, plus never-before-seen handwritten notes, lyrics, and drawings by Joe taken from the Joe Strummer Archive. Also included are four reproduction lyric sheets and chord charts, and the LP box includes an exclusive 12" x 12" art print.

Joe Strummer 002 serves as a loving tribute to Strummer's final musical output, released in celebration of what would have been his 70th birthday year.

Joe Strummer 002 is worth its weight simply for containing remastered versions of all three Mescaleros albums, but the copious liner notes, ephemera, and bonus disc of demos and rarities make it essential.
-Timothy Monger,, 4.5/5 stars


  • Limited Edition - Only 2,500 Available in North America
  • 7LP Box Set
  • LP 1 & 2: Rock Art and the X-Ray Style
  • LP 3 & 4: Global A Go-Go
  • LP 5: Streetcore
  • LP 6 & 7: Vibes Compass (B-sides & Rarities)
  • All Albums Remastered by Paul Hicks
  • Exclusive Packaging feat. Original Conceptual Artwork by Joe
  • 32-Page Book
  • Extensive New Liner Notes & Interviews
  • Never-Before-Seen Handwritten Notes, Lyrics & Drawings by Joe from the Joe Strummer Archive
  • 4 Reproduction Lyric Sheets & Chord Charts
  • Exclusive 12" x 12" Art Print

Track Listing:

Rock Art and the X-Ray Style

  1. Tony Adams
  2. Sandpaper Blues
  3. X-Ray Style
  4. Techno D-Day
  5. The Road To Rock 'N' Roll
  6. Diggin' The New
  7. Nitcomb
  8. Forbidden City
  9. Yalla Yalla
  10. Willesden To Cricklewood

Global A Go-Go

  1. Johnny Appleseed
  2. Cool 'N' Out
  3. Global A Go-Go
  4. Bhindi Bhagee
  5. Gamma Ray
  6. Mega Bottle Ride
  7. Shaktar Donetsk
  8. Mondo Bongo
  9. Bummed Out City
  10. At The Border, Guy
  11. Minstrel Boy


  1. Coma Girl
  2. Get Down Moses
  3. Long Shadow
  4. Arms Aloft
  5. Ramshackle Day Parade
  6. Redemption Song
  7. All In A Day
  8. Burnin' Streets
  9. Midnight Jam
  10. Silver And Gold

Vibes Compass

  1. Time And The Tide
  2. Techno D-Day (Demo)
  3. Ocean Of Dreams
  4. Forbidden City (Demo)
  5. X-Ray Style (Demo)
  6. Road To Rock 'N' Roll (Demo)
  7. Tony Adams (Demo)
  8. Cool 'N' Out (Demo)
  9. Global A Go-Go (Demo)
  10. Secret Agent Man
  11. All in a Day (Demo)
  12. London Is Burning
  13. Get Down Moses (Outtake)
  14. Fantastic
  15. Coma Girl (Outtake)



Format: LP Vinyl
Label: BMG Rights Management (US) LLC
Catalog No:
Barcode: 4050538791822
Genre: Rock
No of Discs: 7
Release Date: 9/16/2022



UPC:  050538791822