Joni Mitchell - Court And Spark (180g) (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $32.99

Joni Mitchell - Court And Spark (180g) (LP)

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 110/500

Joni Mitchell reached her commercial high point with Court And Spark, a remarkably deft fusion of folk, pop and jazz which stands as her best-selling work to date. While as unified and insightful as Blue, the album - a concept record exploring the roles of honesty and trust in relationships, romantic and otherwise - moves away from confessional songwriting into evocative character studies.

"Working with saxophonist Tom Scott's fusion group L.A. Express, Mitchell settles into a folk-pop-jazz groove that remains a landmark of breezy sophistication, particularly on the Top Ten single 'Help Me.' Strange but true: A cover of 'Twisted' by the scat-jazz vocal group Lambert, Hendricks and Ross closes the album - with stoner comics Cheech and Chong singing backup." -

A singer, composer and lyricist of exceptional talent and unmatched influence, Joni Mitchell has crafted an extraordinary body of work spanning more than 40 years and is widely regarded as one of the brightest musical lights of recent generations. Fans, fellow musicians and critics have delighted in an ever-evolving creative journey, with songs both universal and profoundly personal. Her music has become a standard to which others are compared and which many aspire to copy, but its inventiveness and ineffable spirit make it decidedly her own. Explore the musical magnificence of Joni Mitchell.

"I had attempted to play my music with rock & roll players," Mitchell said in 1979. "They'd laugh, 'Aww, isn't that cute? She's trying to tell us how to play.'" It took a jazz group - Tom Scott's L.A. Express - to realize her biggest hit, a swooning confession of love trouble complete with swirling sax break. One rocker, Prince, loved the song so much he quoted it on 'The Ballad of Dorothy Parker.'
-Rolling Stone

Track Listing:

  1. Court And Spark
  2. Help Me
  3. Free Man In Paris
  4. People's Parties
  5. Same Situation
  6. Car On A Hill
  7. Down To You
  8. Just Like This Train
  9. Raised On Robbery
  10. Trouble Child
  11. Twisted

Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Elektra Catalog Group
Catalog No: 8122798618
Barcode: 0081227986186
Genre: Rock
No of Discs: 1
Release Date: 8/21/2014

                UPC:  081227986186