Miles Davis - Merci, Miles! Live At Vienne (2LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $34.99

Miles Davis - Merci, Miles! Live At Vienne


Format: LP Vinyl
    Label: Rhino Records
      Catalog No: 653962
        Barcode: 0603497844623
          Genre: Jazz
            No of Discs: 2
              Release Date: 6/25/2021

                Miles Davis Live At The Vienne Jazz Festival On Double LP

                Previously Unreleased! Includes Two Songs Written By Prince

                One Of Davis' Final Performances Before His Death

                By 1991, the world's most celebrated trumpeter could look back on five decades of musical evolution - his own, and that of the world around him. Miles Davis had found ways of marrying jazz with classical ideas, then later R&B, rock and funk, producing hybrid offspring that shaped the course of popular music and had come to define his legend. In 1985, he'd left Columbia after thirty years to sign to Warner Bros. Records, a label riding high with best-selling artists like Madonna, Van Halen and Prince, with whom he had a mutual admiration and friendship.

                Miles Davis's lifelong love for France is well-documented, and in July 1991, he became a Knight of their Legion of Honour. Davis received the award from French culture minister Jack Lang, who described him as: "The Picasso of jazz." A few days before, he played this electrifying set at the Vienne Jazz Festival with the Miles Davis Group. He passed away two months later in September 1991.

                Miles Davis' performance at Jazz a Vienne on July 1, 1991 became one of his final live performances before he passed away on September 28, 1991, and this previously unreleased set includes two songs written by Prince, "Penetration" and "Jailbait".



                • Double LP

                • Historic set available for the first time ever

                • Recorded at the Jazz a Vienne Festival, Vienne, France, July 1, 1991

                • 2 songs written by Prince

                • Made in Germany



                Miles Davis trumpet
                Kenny Garrett saxophone
                Deron Johnson keyboard
                Foley lead bass
                Richard Patterson bass
                Ricky Wellman drums

                Track Listing:

                LP 1

                Side A:

                1. Hannibal

                2. Jailbait


                Side B:

                1. Time After Time

                2. Wrinkle


                LP 2

                Side C:

                1. Human Nature


                Side D:

                1. Penetration

                2. Amandla

                3. Finale



                UPC: 603497844623