Miles Davis - 'Round About Midnight (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $30.99

Miles Davis - 'Round About Midnight


Format: LP Vinyl
    Label: Sony
      Catalog No: 88985434521
        Barcode: 0889854345211
          Genre: Jazz
            No of Discs: 1
              Release Date: 10/6/2017


                Miles' Columbia Debut On Imported Vinyl

                Recorded With Miles' "First Great Quintet," Featuring John Coltrane

                In 1955, Miles Davis signed with jazz powerhouse Columbia Records and immediately began recording 'Round About Midnight. Although he was still under contract with Prestige Records, an agreement stipulated that he could record material for Columbia, to be released after the expiration of his contract with Prestige.

                'Round About Midnight was the first recording with Davis's new quintet, composed of Philly Joe Jones on drums, Paul Chambers on bass, Red Garland on piano, and a young John Coltrane on tenor sax. Featuring standards like Bye Bye Blackbird and the title track 'Round Midnight, this record is considered by some to be one of the pinnacles of the hard bop era.

                Historically, few jazz records claim the significance boasted by 'Round About Midnight. The album's creation--and the assembly of Davis' quintet--stems from the headliner's rousing rendition of the title-inspired track, "'Round Midnight," a Thelonious Monk standard, at the 1955 Newport Jazz Festival. Stunning the audience with an interpretation that witnessed him personalize the composition with a brooding tone made possible via employment of his soon-to-be-trademark Harmon mute, Davis redefined perspective and possibility, taking ownership of the ballad as his own, and further improving upon its reach in the studio. It wasn't the composer's only surprise.

                'Round About Midnight thrives due to diversity and consistency, a rare combination epitomized by the first-rate selection and astonishing performance of pensive ballads, bebop classics, pop standards, and folk pieces. Witness the counterpoint exchanges during "Ah-Leu-Cha" and its Dixieland shades. Soak up the progressive drama and swinging tempos on "All of You" and "Bye Bye Blackbird." Delight in the mélange of latticed textures and schematic moods throughout the sequence.

                For a seasoned veteran or a jazz newcomer, this record represents the origins of post-bop modern jazz and is an absolute necessity for any vinyl collection.



              • Miles Davis, trumpet
              • John Coltrane, tenor saxophone
              • Red Garland, piano
              • Paul Chambers, bass
              • "Philly Joe" Jones, drums

              • Track Listing:

                Side A:

                1. 'Round Midnight
                2. Ah-Leu-Cha
                3. All Of You


                Side B:

                1. Bye Bye Blackbird
                2. Tadd's Delight
                3. Dear Old Stockholm



                UPC: 889854345211