Nina Simone - Nina Simone and Her Friends (2021 Stereo Remaster) (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $34.99

Nina Simone - Nina Simone and Her Friends (2021 Stereo Remaster) (LP)

Jazz Vocals from Nina Simone, Carmen McRae & Chris Connor

Originally released by Bethlehem Records in 1959, Nina Simone and Her Friends is a compilation album comprised of the few remaining, unreleased tracks from the Little Girl Blue recording session plus songs recorded by two other former Bethlehem artists, the powerhouse jazz vocalist Carmen McRae and the elegant song stylist Chris Connor.

As Daphne Brooks explains in the release's brand new essay, "Bethlehem clustered their work—tracks that had previously appeared on the label's Girlfriends compilation—together with the younger, upstart Simone's and essentially offered up a collection of songs that span a range of genres— folk, jazz, pop song staples, and torch song laments, plus a couple of provocative original compositions by McRae and Simone. Each track is a reminder of the clear-eyed independence, verve, and confidence of three artists whose music, taken together, brims with the majesty and the assured talents of the late 1950s women artists who led with conviction and invention as musicians and song interpreters."

Featuring a brand new stereo mix by four-time Grammy winner Michael Graves. Includes new essay by author of Liner Notes for the Revolution, Daphne A. Brooks.



Nina Simone vocals, piano (A1, A4, B1, B4)
Carmen McRae vocals (A3, A6, B3, B6)
Chris Connor vocals (A2, A5, B2, B5)
Jimmy Bond bass (A1, A4, B1, B4)
Albert "Tootie" Heath drums (A1, A4, B1, B4)
The Tony Scott Quartet (A6, B3, B6)
The Vinnie Burke Quartet (A2, B5)
The Mat Mathews Quartet (A3)


Track Listing:

Side A:

  1. He's Got the Whole World in His Hands - Nina Simone

  2. Someone To Watch Over Me - Chris Connor

  3. Old Devil Moon - Carmen McRae

  4. I Loves You, Porgy - Nina Simone

  5. I Concentrate On You - Chris Connor

  6. You Made Me Care - Carmen McRae


Side B:

  1. For All We Know - Nina Simone

  2. From This Moment On - Chris Connor

  3. Too Much in Love to Care - Carmen McRae

  4. African Mailman - Nina Simone

  5. All This And Heaven Too - Chris Connor

  6. The Last Time For Love - Carmen McRae


Format: LP Vinyl
Label: BMG Rights Management (US) LLC
Catalog No:
Barcode: 4050538671445
Genre: Jazz
No of Discs: 1
Release Date: 5/19/2023

UPC:  4050538671445