Nina Simone - Pastel Blues (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) (180g) (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $39.99

Nina Simone - Pastel Blues (Verve Acoustic Sounds Series) (180g) (LP)

All-Analog 180g Vinyl LP

Remastered & Pressed at Quality Record Pressings

Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound From Original Analog Tapes

Pastel Blues features "Be My Husband", written by Simone's husband/manager, Andrew Stroud. She sings a cappella, with handclapping and a hi-hat as her only accompaniment. It was later retitled "Be Your Husband". Fans of the 1999 film "The Thomas Crown Affair" will recognize the timeless "Sinnerman". Also includes the Billie Holiday covers "Tell Me More And More And Then Some" and "Strange Fruit".

Seeking to offer definitive audiophile grade versions of some of the most historic and best jazz records ever recorded, Verve Label Group and Universal Music Enterprises' new audiophile Acoustic Sounds vinyl reissue series utilizes the skills of top mastering engineers and the unsurpassed production craft of Quality Record Pressings. All titles are mastered from the original analog tapes, pressed on 180-gram vinyl and packaged by Stoughton Printing Co. in high-quality gatefold sleeves with tip-on jackets.

"We are excited to launch our Acoustic Sounds series," said Bruce Resnikoff, President & CEO of UMe. "Verve and UMe have one of the richest jazz catalogs ever recorded and our goal is to give vinyl and music lovers the best possible versions of classic albums. The Acoustic Sounds series is designed to appeal to today's most discriminating fans, and those discovering this treasured legacy for the first time, looking for the very finest in both artistic content and audio quality."

"Whether you have an original pressing or especially if you bought the aforementioned box set (or either of these albums from the box that were later available individually), within a few seconds of the opening percussive cracks on Pastel Blues made by hand claps and a hi-hat on 'Be My Husband' (written by Andrew Stroud - Simone's husband at the time and a former policeman who eventually turned abusive) you'll know you're hearing a vastly superior edition of the album, both aurally and emotionally. The all analog version's superior three-dimensionality, transparency and attention to the small details produce a 'you are there' sensation the digitized versions hide behind a scrim. The originals were never well-mastered or pressed... Her devastating 'Strange Fruit' serves as the set's denouement, which is followed by an extended 'Sinnerman' - a worthwhile, show stopping encore (though of course this is a studio session that Simone treats like a live performance) that Simone delivers with power usually reserved for the stage. What sounds like a mediocre recording on the digitized version comes to transparent and three-dimensional life on this edition. The laminated gatefold presentation completes the package." - Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, Music 9/11, Sound 9/11

I Put a Spell On You is a thoughtful, often joyful sophisticated set of well-chosen, popular songs (pop of that era is unlike today's pop) that Nina Simone delivers with unerring charm and warmth. It's her most consistently excellent Philips era album and it and Pastel Blues, both released in 1965, are ideal showcases for both Simone's enduring artistry and for what made her Philips era records special. The sound of both of these records is the best that's been produced from these tapes and both records are well worth owning.
-Michael Fremer, Analog Planet, Music 9/11, Sound 9/11


  • Acoustic Sounds Series reissue from Verve/Universal Music Enterprises
  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • All-Analog
  • Mastered by Ryan K. Smith at Sterling Sound From Original Analog Tapes
  • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
  • Stoughton Printing gatefold old-style tip-on jacket

Track Listing:

Side A:

  1. Be My Husband
  2. Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out
  3. End Of The Line
  4. Trouble In Mind
  5. Tell Me More And More And Then Some
  6. Chilly Winds Don't Blow

Side B:

  1. Ain't No Use
  2. Strange Fruit
  3. Sinnerman



Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Verve                                                                                                                 Catalog No: B003226601
Barcode: 0602507190828
Genre: Jazz
No of Discs: 1
Release Date: 11/13/2020


UPC: 602507190828