Nirvana - MTV Unplugged In New York (180g) (2LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $39.99

Nirvana - MTV Unplugged In New York (180g) (2LP)

25th Anniversary Edition

180 Gram Vinyl Double LP

Expanded To Include 5 Rehearsal Performances

Silver Detail On Front & Back Cover

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 279/500

Named one of the 10 best live albums of all time by Rolling Stone, Nirvana's MTV Unplugged in New York is reissued on vinyl in celebration of the 25th anniversary of its 1994 release.

Recorded in November 1993, less than six months before singer Kurt Cobain's tragic death, Nirvana's MTV Unplugged is a watershed document that presents a band at the peak of its powers. Unlike any other "unplugged" affair, the diverse album is not a simple stripped-down regurgitation of greatest hits or a cash-it-in set of nostalgic favorites. Rather, the live effort is among the most emotionally naked spectacles ever released--an album so starkly intense and profoundly personal, it's impossible not to get chills down the spine.

Made primarily with acoustic instruments--Grohl even trades sticks for brushes, Krist Novoselic picks up an accordion, and cellist Lori Goldston prominently figures in the arrangements--Unplugged in New York reveals Nirvana's folksier side and clear ambition to move beyond abrasive rock. The set list is as surprising as the stylistic makeover. Save for renditions of "All Apologies" and "Come As You Are," the adventurous material includes brooding covers of the Meat Puppets' "Lake of Fire," "Plateau," and "Oh Me" as well as harrowing versions of David Bowie's "The Man Who Sold the World," and the Vaselines' "Jesus Don't Want Me for a Sunbeam."

Intensely private and disturbingly primal, Nirvana's rendition of the Leadbelly standard "Where Did You Sleep Last Night" takes its place among the most cathartic songs ever committed to record. It's the musical equivalent of the insides of Cobain's soul being ripped out and put out display for all to see.

Nirvana's "Unplugged in New York" is reissued on 180g 2LP vinyl in celebration of the 25th anniversary. Expanded to include 5 rehearsal performances previously only available on DVD, the anniversary release also features an exclusive gatefold jacket including anniversary silver foil detail on the front and back cover.


  • 25th Anniversary Edition
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Double LP
  • Expanded to include 5 rehearsal performances previously only available on DVD
  • Gatefold jacket with silver foil detail on front and back cover
  • Download card/sticker expires December 31, 2020

Track Listing:

Side 1:

  1. About A Girl
  2. Come As You Are
  3. Jesus Doesn't Want Me For A Sunbeam
  4. The Man Who Sold The World

Side 2:

  1. Pennyroyal Tea
  2. Dumb
  3. Polly
  4. On A Plain
  5. Something In The Way

Side 3:

  1. Plateau
  2. Oh Me
  3. Lake Of Fire
  4. All Apologies
  5. Where Did You Sleep Last Night?

Side 4:

  1. Come As You Are (Rehearsal)
  2. Polly (Rehearsal)
  3. Plateau (Rehearsal)
  4. Pennyroyal Tea (Rehearsal)
  5. The Man Who Sold The World (Rehearsal)
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Geffen
Catalog No: B002951201
Barcode: 0602577307348
Genre: Rock
No of Discs: 2
Release Date: 11/1/2019
UPC: 602577307348