Otis Redding - The Definitive Studio Album Collection (Mono) (7LP) Box Set

  • Sale
  • Regular price $169.99

Otis Redding - The Definitive Studio Album Collection (Mono) (7LP) Box Set

7LP Box Set
7 Essential Studio Albums From The King Of Soul
Back On Mono For First Time In Years
Seven-LP collection features original mono mixes for all of Otis Redding's studio albums, including essential soul hits like "Pain In My Heart," "Tramp," and "Respect". All of the LPs replicate the original packaging, from the sleeve artwork down to small details like the original record labels (Volt and Stax) and catalog numbers, all housed together in a side-loading slipcase. Several of these albums are long out-of-print and back on vinyl in mono for the first time in years.

The year 2018 marks the 50th anniversary of Otis Redding topping the charts with his signature song "(Sittin' On) The Dock of The Bay".  Unfortunately the single's success was bittersweet, as Redding tragically passed away in a plane crash just weeks before its release.

The music follows Redding's career from his 1964 debut Pain In My Heart up to The Dock of the Bay, which was released in February 1968, just a few months after the singer's untimely death in December 1967. Despite his short career, Redding recorded songs that helped define soul in the Sixties and beyond.

The albums are packed with Top Ten R&B hits: "Chained And Bound," "Mr. Pitiful," "I've Been Loving You Too Long" and his cover of the Rolling Stones' "(I Can't Get No) Satisfaction." Another obvious highlight is "Respect," a song Redding wrote and recorded in 1965, which later become a massive hit for Aretha Franklin. Another essential is "Tramp" from his unforgettable duets album with Carla Thomas, King & Queen. As it happens, that's also the last album the singer would release during his lifetime.

Track Listing:

Pain In My Heart (1964)
Side A:

1. Pain In My Heart
2. The Dog
3. Stand By Me
4. Hey Hey Baby
5. You Send Me
6. I Need Your Lovin'
Side B:
7. These Arms Of Mine
8. Louie Louie
9. Something Is Worrying Me
10. Security
11. That's What My Heart Needs
12. Lucille

The Great Otis Redding Sings Soul Ballads (1965)
Side A:

1. That's How Strong My Love Is
2. Chained And Bound
3. Woman, Lover, A Friend
4. Your One And Only Man
5. Nothing Can Change This Love
6. It's Too Late
Side B:
7. For Your Precious Love
8. I Want To Thank You
9. Come To Me
10. Home In Your Heart
11. Keep Your Arms Around Me
12. Mr. Pitiful

Otis Blue/Otis Redding Sings Soul (1965)
Side A:

1. Ole Man Trouble
2. Respect
3. Change Gonna Come
4. Down In The Valley
5. I've Been Loving You Too Long
Side B:
6. Shake
7. My Girl
8. Wonderful World
9. Rock Me Baby
10. Satisfaction
11. You Don't Miss Your Water

The Soul Album (1966)
Side A:

1. Just One More Day
2. It's Growing
3. Cigarettes And Coffee
4. Chain Gang
5. Nobody Knows You (When You're Down nd Out)
Side B:
6. Good To Me
7. Scratch My Back
8. Treat Her Right
9. Everybody Makes A Mistake
10. Any Ole Way
11. 634-5789

Complete & Unbelievable: The Otis Redding Dictionary Of Soul (1966)
Side A:

1. Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa- (Sad Song)
2. I'm Sick Y'all
3. Tennessee Waltz
4. Sweet Lorene
5. Try A Little Tenderness
6. Day Tripper
Side B:
7. My Lover's Prayer
8. She Put The Hurt On Me
9. Ton Of Joy
10. You're Still My Baby
11. Hawg For You
12. Love Have Mercy

King & Queen (with Carla Thomas) (1967)
Side A:

1. Knock On Wood
2. Let Me Be Good To You
3. Tramp
4. Tell It Like It Is
5. When Something Is Wrong With My Baby
6. Lovey Dovey
Side B:
7. New Year's Resolution
8. It Takes Two
9. Are You Lonely For Me Baby
10. Bring It On Home To Me
11. Ooh Carla, Ooh Otis

The Dock Of The Bay (1968: Posthumous)
Side A:

1. (Sittin' On) The Dock Of The Bay
2. I Love You More Than Words Can Say
3. Let Me Come On Home
4. Open The Door
5. Don't Mess With Cupid
Side B:
6. The Glory Of Love
7. I'm Coming Home
8. Tramp (with Carla Thomas)
9. The Huckle-Buck
10. Nobody Knows You (When You're Down And Out)
11. Ole Man Trouble

Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Atlantic Catalog Group
Catalog No: 563422
Barcode: 0081227932749
Genre: R&B/Soul
No of Discs: 7
Release Date: 12/15/2017
UPC: 081227932749