The Grateful Dead - Dick's Picks Volume 19, 10/19/1973, Limited Edition (180g) (6LP) Box Set

  • Sale
  • Regular price $199.99

The Grateful Dead - Dick's Picks Volume 19, 10/19/1973

Limited Edition

(180g) (6LP) Box Set

Format: LP Vinyl
    Label: Real Gone Music
      Catalog No: LP-RGM-1323LE
        Barcode: 0848064013235
          Genre: Rock
            No of Discs: 6
              Release Date: 4/1/2022

                Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 6LP Box Set

                Complete Debut Concert Of Superlative 1973 Midwest Tour

                Mastered From The Original Tapes & Pressed at Gotta Groove

                Real Gone Music's previous LP releases of Grateful Dead concerts from the Dick's Picks series have encompassed the years of 1969, 1972, 1974, and 1977...but there's one year on that list that is conspicuous by its absence. That's right...Real Gone have yet to release a concert on vinyl from what is arguably the peak year of Dead touring, 1973! And what was the peak tour from that year? Yup, the fall Midwest tour. So, the choice of Dick's Picks Vol. 19 as the next vinyl "trip" was an easy one.

                It was the first concert of the tour, and in fact at the time it was the first full 1973 concert to be released. More importantly, with the release of Wake Of The Flood just a few days prior, it finds the band invigorated with a wealth of fresh material to explore, highlighted by stellar (no pun intended) renditions of "Stella Blue" and "Eyes Of The World". And the two sidelong numbers on the set, "Playing In The Band" and "Dark Star" (which leads into a dazzling "Mind Left Body Jam" and a stirring "Morning Dew"), achieve sheer improvisational bliss.

                The original sound mix on this one is superb, and Real Gone taken great care to preserve it and even improve upon it for this release, with mastering for vinyl from the original tapes by the set's original mastering engineer, Jeffrey Norman, lacquer cutting by Clint Holley and Dave Polster at Well Made Music, and a 180-gram black vinyl pressing at Gotta Groove Records.

                Also included is an insert sporting the graphics from the original release, housed inside a two-piece hardshell box that is hand-numbered. Limited to 4,500 6-LP sets...and if previous experience is any guide, they're gonna go fast!

                • Hand-Numbered, Limited Edition - 4500 Copies
                • 6LP Box Set
                • 180g Vinyl
                • First time on vinyl
                • Mastered for vinyl from the original tapes by Jeffrey Norman at Mockingbird Mastering
                • Lacquers cut by Clint Holley & Dave Polster at Well Made Music
                • Pressed at Gotta Groove Records
                • Insert with graphics from the original release
                • 2-piece hardshell box

                Track Listing:

                Side A:

                1. Promised Land

                2. Sugaree

                3. Mexicali Blues

                Side B:

                1. Tennessee Jed

                2. Looks Like Rain

                Side C:

                1. Don't Ease Me In

                2. Jack Straw

                3. They Love Each Other

                Side D:

                1. El Paso

                2. Row Jimmy

                Side E:

                1. Playing In The Band

                Side F:

                1. China Cat Sunflower

                2. I Know You Rider

                Side G:

                1. Me And My Uncle

                2. Mississippi Half-Step Uptown Toodeloo

                3. Big River

                Side H:

                1. Dark Star

                Side I:

                1. Mind Left Body Jam

                2. Morning Dew

                Side J:

                1. Sugar Magnolia

                Side K:

                1. Eyes Of The World

                Side L:

                1. Stella Blue

                2. Johnny B. Goode