The Grateful Dead - Fox Theatre, St. Louis, MO (12/10/71) (180g) 5LP Box Set

  • Sale
  • Regular price $129.99

The Grateful Dead - Fox Theatre, St. Louis, MO (12/10/71)

(180g) 5LP Box Set

Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Grateful Dead Production
Catalog No: 654081
Barcode: 0603497844449
Genre: Rock
No of Discs: 5

Release Date: 11/19/2021

Limited Edition 180g Vinyl 5LP Box Set


Previously Unreleased Live Performance Mastered From The Original Analog Board Tapes

Features Custom 10th Side Etching


Featuring A Powerhouse Pigpen-Sung "Good Lovin'", A Rare "Run Rudolph Run", A Psychedelic "The Other One" & Classics Like "Truckin'", "Sugar Magnolia" & "Casey Jones"

One of the shortest-lived iterations of the Grateful Dead was the band that existed December 1971 through March 1972. Jerry, Bob, Phil, Bill, Pigpen, and Keith formed a formidable version of the Dead that only played a few shows together before Donna Jean joined as vocalist, and before Pigpen would depart the stage for good in June 1972. What this sextet lacked in quantity of shows it made up for with creativeness, power, and inspiration. When Pigpen rejoined the Dead on December 1, 1971, after a few months off during which Keith had joined as piano player, the band was now an unstoppably powerful live juggernaut it hadn't been since the height of the Primal Dead era in late 1968-1969.

Widely considered one of the best shows from the Pigpen-Keith era of the Grateful Dead, December 10, 1971 in St. Louis has it all: Pigpen singing lead on four songs including an 18 minute version of "Good Lovin'" and a very rare performance of "Run Rudolph Run"; a deep dive into the Dead's psychedelic recent past with a monster version of "The Other One"; plus plenty of the new material from earlier in 1971 like "Bertha", "Loser", "Sugaree", and "Playing In The Band". They also hit upon much of the music that would appear the following year on Europe '72, such as "Jack Straw", "Tennessee Jed", "Mr. Charlie" and "One More Saturday Night". And no Dead show of this vintage would be complete without the "hits": "Truckin'", "Sugar Magnolia" and "Casey Jones" all make appearances.

This is truly one of the deepest, most dynamic, exciting, and accessible live shows in the entire Grateful Dead canon.


  • Limited Edition - 12,000 Copies
  • 5LP Box Set
  • 180g Vinyl
  • Complete, previously unreleased live performance
  • 9 sides of music
  • Custom vinyl etching on 10th side
  • Plangent Processes tape restoration & speed correction
  • Mastered by Jeffrey Norman from the original analog board tapes
  • Box with lift-off lid with metallic gold accents


Track Listing:

Side A:

  1. Bertha
  2. Me And My Uncle
  3. Mr. Charlie
  4. Loser
Side B:
  1. Beat It On Down The Line
  2. Sugaree
  3. Jack Straw
  4. Next Time You See Me

Side C:

  1. Tennessee Jed
  2. El Paso
  3. Big Railroad Blues
  4. Casey Jones

Side D:

  1. Good Lovin'

Side E:

  1. Brokedown Palace
  2. Playing In The Band
  3. Run Rudolph Run
  4. Deal

Side F:

  1. Sugar Magnolia
  2. Comes A Time

Side G:

  1. Truckin'
  2. Drums

Side H:

  1. The Other One
  2. Sitting On Top Of The World
  3. The Other One, Pt. 2

Side I:

  1. Not Fade Away, Pt. 1
  2. Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad
  3. Not Fade Away, Pt. 2
  4. One More Saturday Night


Side J: