The Grateful Dead - The Grateful Dead (Debut Album) (180g) (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $29.99

The Grateful Dead - The Grateful Dead (Debut Album)
(180g) (LP)
Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Grateful Dead Production
Catalog No: 1689 P
Barcode: 0603497846627
Genre: Rock
No of Discs: 1
Release Date: 10/30/2020

The Grateful Dead's self-titled debut album was released in March 1967 on Warner Bros. Records and features the singles "Morning Dew", "Sittin' On Top Of The World" and "Beat It On Down The Line".

One of the year's few supposedly psychedelic LPs that wasn't actually a pop LP, the already legendary San Francisco band-collective's debut stood out and stands tall because its boogieing folk rock epitomizes the San Francisco ballroom ethos - blues-based tunes played by musicians who came to rhythm late, expanded so they were equally suitable for dancing and for tripping out. It's also the only studio album that respects the impact of Ron 'Pigpen' McKernan, who died in 1973 of cirrhosis of the liver. McKernan's organ is almost as pervasive as Jerry Garcia's guitar. And although Garcia and Bob Weir both take vocal leads, their singing styles are still in Pigpen's white-blues thrall.
-Robert Christgau, Rolling Stone, The 40 Essential Albums of 1967


  • 180g Vinyl LP
  • Debut Album
  • 2017 Remaster
  • Produced for release by David Lemieux
  • Manufactured in USA

Track Listing;

Side One:

  1. The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)
  2. Beat It On Down The Line
  3. Good Mornin' Little School Girl
  4. Cold Rain And Snow
  5. Sittin' On Top Of The World
  6. Cream Puff War

Side Two:

  1. Morning Dew
  2. New, New Minglewood Blues
  3. Viola Lee Blues