The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Axis: Bold As Love (Mono) (180g) (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $28.99

The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Axis: Bold As Love (Mono)

(180g) (LP)

Format: LP Vinyl
    Label: SMG 
      Catalog No: 88765419711
        Barcode: 0887654197115
          Genre: Rock 
            No of Discs: 1
              Release Date: 3/5/201

                180g Mono Audiophile Vinyl
                Mastered by Bernie Grundman From Original Monoaural Mixes
                Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
                Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 92/500

                The mono versions of this Jimi Hendrix classic is drawn from the original monoaural mixes created by Chas Chandler, Jimi Hendrix and Eddie Kramer in 1967. Mastered by Bernie Grundman, each album features original artwork and sequencing. This highly sought after mix, previously unavailable for decades, is presented on 200-gram audiophile vinyl.

                The sensational sophomore release of The Jimi Hendrix Experience highlights Hendrix's own evolving musical experimentalism and acknowledges his early musical influences of soul and R&B. Remastered from the original two-track mixdown master tapes, Axis: Bold As Love's 13-songs show the evolving trio as they neared the height of their career. Features the seminal classics "Spanish Castle Magic," "Little Wing," "Castles Made Of Sand," and the classic Easy Rider anthem, "If 6 Was 9."

                "This is the album that let the other guitar greats of the era know that Hendrix was the greatest—that he’d transcended the blues riffs, the Chuck Berry-isms and the electrified C&W picking and taken string bending to new territory." - Michael Fremer,, Music 10/10, Sound 9/10

                "...Axis is a leisurely, bluesy jewel; Hendrix slowed down on "Little Wing" and "If 6 Was 9" to allow his guitar space to breathe as well as burn. " 'Little Wing' is like one of these beautiful girls that come around sometimes," he said. "They might be spaced, they might be kinda strung out. But everybody has a right to . . . their beliefs, if they want to believe that a star is purple, or whatever." Like Hendrix, Axis was cryptic and bewitching." -

                "Blissed out from his appearance at Monterey Pop, Hendrix brought a delicate touch to this ballad at a 1967 London session. In a mere 145 seconds, he conjured a gossamer reverie. Hendrix played one of his most lyrical solos through a Leslie speaker cabinet (creating an oscillating sound) and later added glockenspiel to complete the mood." - Rolling Stone

                "[A]s good as the stereo mix and well worth having... [T]here's power in the mono focus, and the drums in particular are well served... [T]he QRP pressings are dead quiet and physically perfect." - Michael Fremer,, Music 9/10, Sound 9/10!

                • Limited Edition
                • 180g Vinyl
                • Mono
                • Re-mastered by Bernie Grundman
                • Mastered from Original Mono Mix
                • Pressed at Quality Record Pressings
                • Re-issue plated by Gary Salstrom
                Track Listing

                Side A:
                1. Exp
                2. Up From the Skies
                3. Spanish Castle Magic
                4. Wait Until Tomorrow
                5. Ain't No Telling
                6. Little Wing
                7. If 6 Was 9

                Side B:
                1. You Got Me Floatin'
                2. Castles Made of Sand
                3. She's So Fine
                4. One Rainy Wish
                5. Little Miss Lover
                6. Bold As Love