The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Live At Monterey (180g) (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $28.99

The Jimi Hendrix Experience - Live At Monterey (180g)


Format: LP Vinyl
    Label: SMG 
      Catalog No: 88843042031
        Barcode: 0888430420311
          Genre: Rock 
            No of Discs: 1
              Release Date: 6/3/2014

                All Analogue Mastering by Bernie Grundman! Pressed at QRP on 180g Vinyl

                Jimi Hendrix's incendiary June 18, 1967 concert at the Monterey Pop Festival is represented here on 180g Vinyl.

                The audiophile 180g vinyl recording was mastered using an all-analogue technique by renowned audio engineer Bernie Grundman and pressed by Quality Record Pressings (QRP), the plant responsible for last year's People, Hell & Angels, among many other titles in the Hendrix canon.

                Live At Monterey captures The Jimi Hendrix Experience's mythic U.S. debut performance on June 18, 1967 at the Monterey Pop Festival. A captivated California audience witnessed the original band line up of Hendrix, Mitchell and bassist Noel Redding blaze through soon-to-be-classic originals such as "Foxey Lady," "The Wind Cries Mary," and "Purple Haze," as well as transformative versions of Bob Dylan's "Like A Rolling Stone," and The Troggs' "Wild Thing" before Hendrix set his guitar ablaze. This show is credited as having launched The Jimi Hendrix Experience into superstardom; they would go on to become the highest grossing touring act in the U.S. soon thereafter.

                Not only is this reissue significant for its historic musical content, but this vinyl edition is also done as all LPs should (when possible); all-analog mastering by Bernie Grundman, 200g QRP pressing, an insert featuring Experience drummer Mitch Mitchell's 2007 essay about the show, and a $25 retail price. Many live albums are unfortunately cut from digital transfers of the tapes, but not in this case; it shows in the transportive (albeit rough) sound quality. The multitude of recently reissued Hendrix live recordings can easily leave a casual listener confused, but if there's one live Hendrix LP to have, i's Live At Monterey.

                -Malachi Lui, Analog Planet's Best Reissues of the Decade, March 2020
                • 180g Vinyl
                • All analogue mastering by Bernie Grundman
                • Pressed at QRP
                • Essay by Mitch Mitchell
                Track Listing:
                Side One:
                1. Killing Floor
                2. Foxey Lady
                3. Like A Rolling Stone
                4. Rock Me Baby
                5. Hey Joe
                Side Two:
                1. Can You See Me
                2. The Wind Cries Mary
                3. Purple Haze
                4. Wild Thing

                UPC: 888430420311