Ramones - Rocket To Russia (180g) (LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $30.99

Ramones - Rocket To Russia (180g) (LP)

180g Vinyl LP Remastered

Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time - Rated 385/500
Punk Rock's Finest (Half) Hour?

The third studio album by the punk rockers was originally released November 4, 1977 and was their last recording with original drummer Tommy Ramone. The songs incorporate surf rock with other influences and include some of the Ramones' best-known songs including "Sheena Is A Punk Rocker" and "Teenage Lobotomy".

"The Ramones wrote their third album on tour, as they took the gospel of three chords and ripped denim beyond New York's five boroughs. Rocket to Russia was also their first true studio triumph, an exuberant, polished bottling of the CBGB-stage napalm of Ramones and Leave Home. Honed arrangements and a dash of gloss bring out the Top Forty classicism in "Rockaway Beach" and "Sheena Is a Punk Rocker" and the lonely-boy poignancy of Joey Ramone's vocals in "I Don't Care" and "I Wanna Be Well." Rocket was also the last album made by the Ramones' founding four: Drummer Tommy Ramone left to be a full-time producer." - www.rollingstone.com

"Rocket To Russia is the best American rock & roll of the year." - Dave Marsh, Rolling Stone, 1977

"Yes, folks, there's something for everyone on this ready-made punk-rock classic. A" - Robert Christgau

"The Ramones' first four albums stand together as the most toweringly aggressive, misleadingly primitive, perfectly phrased musical statement ever made." - NME

"This was cut twice: first as a single that was rushed to radio and became one of the Ramones' few modest hits, then in a slightly souped-up version for the band's album Rocket to Russia. 'I combined Sheena, Queen of the Jungle, with the primalness of punk rock,' said Joey Ramone. 'It was funny, because all the girls in New York seemed to change their names to Sheena after that.'" - Rolling Stone

• 180g Vinyl LP
• Superior 2017 remastered audio

Johnny Ramone, guitar
Joey Ramone, lead vocals
Dee Dee Ramone, bass
Tommy Ramone, drums

Track Listing:

Side 1:

1. Cretin Hop
2. Rockaway Beach
3. Here Today, Gone Tomorrow
4. Locket Love
5. I Don't Care
6. Sheena Is A Punk Rocker
7. We're a Happy Family

Side 2:
1. Teenage Lobotomy
2. Do You Wanna Dance?
3. I Wanna Be Well
4. I Can't Give You Anything
5. Ramona
6. Surfin' Bird
7. Why Is It Always This Way?


Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Rhino/Warner Bros.
Barcode: 0081227932701
Genre: Rock
No of Discs: 1
Release Date: 2/9/2018
UPC: 081227932701