The White Stripes - Icky Thump (180g) (2LP)

  • Sale
  • Regular price $34.99

The White Stripes - Icky Thump

(180g) (2LP)

Format: LP Vinyl
    Label: Legacy/Third Man
      Catalog No: 19439842441
        Barcode: 0194398424415
          Genre: Rock
            No of Discs: 2
              Release Date: 6/10/2022

                Sixth & Final Studio Album on 180g Vinyl 2LP


                With its title an Americanization of the Northern British phrase "ecky thump" and its cover featuring Jack and Meg bedecked as a Pearly King and Queen, 2007's Icky Thump is a centered, powerful statement as the final studio album from the duo.

                Recorded in the lush environs of Nashville's Blackbird Studios, the trumpet, bagpipes and 1940's synthesizer all feel appropriate here, driving home the idea that the White Stripes were consistent through whatever disparate elements they chose.

                Icky Thump was nominated for four 2007 Grammy Awards and took home the Grammy for Best Alternative Music Album.

                Icky Thump is just plain heavy, dominated by primal, stomping rock that feels like it's been caged for a very long time and is just now being released. Jack White's guitars are back in a big way; 'Catch Hell Blues' is a particularly fine showcase for his playing. Once again, though, the Stripes defy expectations, and their 'return to rock' isn't necessarily a return to the kind of rock they mastered on Elephant... With its fuller sound and relaxed flights of fancy, Icky Thump is a mature, but far from stodgy, album - and, as is usually the case, it's just great fun to hear the band play.
                -Heather Phares, AllMusic


                • 180g Vinyl

                • Double LP

                • Gatefold Jacket

                Track Listing:

                Side A:

                1. Icky Thump
                2. You Don't Know What Love Is (You Just Do As You're Told)
                3. 300 M.P.H. Torrential Outpoor Blues

                Side B:

                1. Conquest
                2. Bone Broke
                3. Prickly Thorn, but Sweetly Worn
                4. St. Andrew (This Battle Is in the Air)

                Side C:

                1. Little Cream Soda
                2. Rag and Bone
                3. I'm Slowly Turning Into You

                Side D:

                1. A Martyr for My Love for You
                2. Catch Hell Blues
                3. Effect and Cause