Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Live at the Fillmore 1997 Deluxe Box Set (6LP)

  • Sale
  • $174.99
  • Regular price $184.99

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers - Live at the Fillmore 1997 Deluxe Box Set (6LP) 

Deluxe 6LP Box Set Contains Songs Recorded During 1997 Fillmore Residency

58-Track Set Features 35 Cover Songs & Over 4 Hours of Music

Includes Booklet, Custom Guitar Picks, Embroidered Patch & More

Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers famously played 20 nights at the legendary Fillmore venue in San Francisco in 1997. Six of the shows were professionally recorded and this release features some of the high points of the residency. The small venue allowed the band to vary their sets each night; they included re-arranged and distinctive versions of their hits, deep cuts, and many cover versions - paying tribute to the artists that Tom and the band had been influenced by.

"I'm really proud of it," guitarist Mike Campbell told Ultimate Classic Rock in 2022. "It was one of the greatest parts of our career. We changed the songs every night and took some liberties with some of the arrangements here and there. I'm really glad we got that on tape. Of course, we had some guest artists like John Lee Hooker, Roger McGuinn, Bo Diddley... It's a really good illustration of the Heartbreakers just being spontaneous and in the moment without being too rehearsed."

"We played everything that came across our minds," Petty said in Paul Zollo's 2005 book Conversations with Tom Petty. "One night we played for four hours - which really isn't like the Heartbreakers. But we just got into a groove, and it went fine. The encore was an hour and a half. And it was great, because it was intimate. ... And you can do things in a smaller theater that you can't do in a coliseum, so it's kind of liberating."

"When Tom said, 'We're going to do all these concerts and do a bunch of different stuff,' I was like, 'We can't do that. That's chewing off way too much," keyboardist Benmont Tench told Rolling Stone in 2021. "But it wasn't chewing off way too much. It was the best thing we could have done. It refreshed the band as much as touring with Bob [Dylan] did in 1986 and 1987, and as much as doing Full Moon Fever refreshed Tom. It was really great."

The Fillmore dates "may be the best time we've ever had musically," Petty told BAM magazine in 1997. "We're all getting along real well, everyone's happy. It's maybe the best time of our lives really."

The 6LP deluxe edition includes 58 tracks, 35 of which are covers, and over 4 hours of music. The 6 LPs are packaged in a box with a 24 page (12" x 12") booklet (with previously unseen photographs); 3 custom guitar picks; a replica All Access laminate; facsimiles of 3 set lists; a reprint of the 8-page Fan Newsletter published in 1997; and an embroidered patch ("The Fillmore House Band" - a term that was bestowed on The Heartbreakers during the shows at the Fillmore).

Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers set new standards during a 20-date residency held in January and February 1997 at the Fillmore in San Francisco. The epic, nearly month-long run of performances included tried-and-true hits, various guest appearances and countless cover songs, some of which Petty had never previously played live and would never again. The goal, in essence, was to let loose and enjoy the ride.
-Allison Rapp, Ultimate Classic Rock


  • Deluxe Edition
  • 6LP Box Set
  • Selections from 1997 20-Night Residency at the Fillmore
  • 58 Tracks, Including 35 Cover Songs
  • Over 4 Hours of Music
  • 24-Page 12"x12" Booklet with Previously Unseen Photos
  • 3 Custom Guitar Picks
  • Replica All Access Laminate
  • Facsimiles of 3 Set Lists
  • Reprint of 8-Page Fan Newsletter from 1997
  • "The Fillmore House Band" Embroidered Patch

Track Listing:

Side A:

  1. Pre-show (spoken interlude)
  2. Around and Around
  3. Jammin' Me
  4. Runnin' Down a Dream
  5. Good Evening (spoken interlude)
  6. Lucille
  7. Call Me the Breeze

Side B:

  1. Cabin Down Below
  2. The Internet, Whatever That Is (spoken interlude)
  3. Time Is on My Side
  4. Listen to Her Heart
  5. Waitin' In School
  6. Let's Hear It for Mike (spoken interlude)
  7. Slaughter on Tenth Avenue
  8. Homecoming Queen Intro (spoken interlude)
  9. The Date I Had with That Ugly Old Homecoming Queen

Side C:

  1. I Won't Back Down
  2. You Are My Sunshine
  3. Ain't No Sunshine
  4. It's Good to Be King

Side D:

  1. Rip It Up
  2. You Don't Know How It Feels
  3. I'd Like to Love You Baby
  4. Diddy Wah Diddy
  5. We Got a Long Way to Go (spoken interlude)
  6. Guitar Boogie Shuffle
  7. I Want You Back Again

Side E:

  1. On the Street Intro (spoken interlude)
  2. On the Street
  3. California
  4. Let's Hear It for Howie and Scott (spoken interlude)
  5. Little Maggie
  6. Walls
  7. Hip Hugger
  8. Friend of the Devil

Side F:

  1. Did Someone Say Heartbreakers Beach Party? (spoken interlude)
  2. Heartbreakers Beach Party
  3. Angel Dream
  4. The Wild One, Forever
  5. Even the Losers
  6. American Girl
  7. You Really Got Me
  8. Goldfinger

Side G:

  1. Mr. Roger McGuinn (spoken interlude)
  2. It Won't Be Wrong
  3. You Ain't Going Nowhere
  4. Drug Store Truck Drivin' Man
  5. Eight Miles High
  6. Crazy Mama
  7. Everyone Loves Benmont (spoken interlude)
  8. Green Onions

Side H:

  1. High Heel Sneakers
  2. John Lee Hooker, Ladies and Gentlemen (spoken interlude)
  3. Find My Baby (Locked Up in Love Again)
  4. Serves You Right to Suffer
  5. Boogie Chillen
  6. I Got a Woman

Side I:

  1. Sorry, I've Just Broken My Amplifier (spoken interlude)
  2. Knockin' on Heaven's Door
  3. Honey Bee
  4. County Farm

Side J:

  1. You Wreck Me
  2. Shakin' All Over
  3. Free Fallin'
  4. Mary Jane's Last Dance

Side K:

  1. Bye Bye Johnny
  2. (I Can't Get No) Satisfaction
  3. It's All Over Now
  4. Louie Louie

Side L:

  1. Gloria
  2. Alright for Now
  3. Goodnight (spoken interlude)






Format: LP Vinyl
Label: Warner Records
Catalog No: A 654290
Barcode: 0093624882572
Genre: Rock
No of Discs: 6
Release Date: 11/25/2022

    UPC:  093624882572